Monday, March 9, 2009

Week Two

I haven't had as much time to do this blog as I would have liked. I thought that I could write everyday in major detail about what was going on. But the course is so intense that I spend my evenings planning lessons, then want to bolt out of the school because I'm usually here for approx. 10-12 hours a day! I wake up at 6:30, get to the school by 8, class begins at 9, and our teaching practice feedback is over usually around 4:30. Then we all usually end up in the cafe to chat about the day and vent, etc. then head to the teacher's lounge to do work.

Last Thursday I had to teach my first grammar lesson. How nervewracking! I still don't even know that much about grammar myself! I'm having a hard time completely understanding what the school wants from us. They like it when we guide the students to find the answer for themselves, but should we explain it first, etc? I was asking my teacher about it and she kind of brushed it off so I thought "Okay, if I see that the students are struggling with it, then we'll talk about it more in depth." (The unit was on the difference between "used to, get used to, and be used to." All in all, the lesson went really well and I was really happy. They were using the language and personalizing it. Zuzana who struggles the most even got something and it made me teary-eyed. I was also sad because it was my last lesson with them and I had gotten so attached. Then at the end of the lesson I got torn apart by Kamila for not telling them the "form" first. But then I think Kamila realized that that's what I had been asking about before and she knew she had brushed it off. She apologized which was good, I suppose. She said it was a fantastic lesson considering. I just felt so angry because clearly I'm aware of what I need to do and what the students need, or I wouldn't have asked her about it. It just kind of made me feel like I can't actually look to them for help like I'm supposed to be able to.

Needless to say, I wasn't the only one who was angry and stressed out after their grammar lesson. We were all sick of being at the school and sick of being stressed out, and we all needed to let off some steam. A few of us TEFLers went to the brewery next door to bitch and moan, then the rest of the group showed up. We went to another bar because there was so many of us. It was definitely such a well needed evening! We're all tired of having to be so polite and proper all day long! So all the deep dark secrets came out haha A soft jazz band was playing cruise ship type music and we were all dancing even though it wasn't really dancing music. Gina and I stole all the matchbooks so that we can light our stove. We went to KFC afterwards, but they don't sell mashed potatos or mac and cheese. So lame! Clearly it's not a real KFC! So then we went to McDonalds and made our way back home.

Friday was kind of an easy day. Gina and I went to Tesco to get some essentials like trash bags and a hair dryer. It's like we're an old married couple doing our grocery shopping together haha. We vegged for the rest of the night because we were so exhausted from the week. We watched a Czech movie even though we couldn't understand any words. But we got the idea because the movie was absolutely ridiculous! It had men as nuns, people having affairs, and transvestite teachers. Pure craziness. I feel really lucky to have Gina as a roommate. She's so easy to live with, not high maintenance at all, and she's goofy like me. She's kind of like the intelligent fabulous hippie chic who wears retro clothes that I've always aspired to be haha :)

On Saturday we got ready and finally explored Prague! I feel like I know my way around a bit better (if not for the crazy winding streets ah!) It's actually a pretty small town. We started at one museum, made our way through the square, across a bridge to below the Castle and then down the river. I got some good pictures finally and it started to feel like we were actually in Europe! Then we went home and got ready for Kristen's Birthday! The whole group plus some outside friends went out to dinner at a Mexican restaurant. I thought the food would be terrible, but it was actually quite good. The one girl Hana who was there is Czech so she led all 20+ to the metro then to a club called Nebe. In Nebe we found the entire Southhampton University Football team haha all of our dreams come true! I talked to more British people that night than I did my entire time in London I believe. Nebe was great...good music, great atmosphere, and I could FINALLY DANCE!!! It's been sooo long...since before Graduation that I went out dancing. After Nebe we went to Chateau which was just as fun. It was one of those nights that I've been waiting for...we were all dancing through the streets and singing on our way to the clubs and I don't remember the last time I laughed so hard.

On Sunday I met with my one student for a personal one-on-one assesment. I'll have to plan a 60 minute lesson adapted for her needs. The rest of the day was spent doing my assignment and planning my lesson.

Today I was a wreck because even though I was completely prepared for my lesson, mentally I didn't feel that way. I think it's because it's a new class, I don't know who they are, or what their capabilities are. I realized that I couldn't picture how the lesson would go because I don't know them. But the students are more fluent than I thought they would be and they definitely got into their discussions. It was a reading about "Body Clocks." These coursebooks are so silly and outdated. Paul is our new observer. Although he's not as scary as Kamila, what he expects is different and some of his views are going to take a while to get used to. He teaches us like he would his Czech Students. "Paul, I have a question about blah blah blah..." "Well Allyson, what do YOU think?" "Well Paul, I don't know, that's why I'm asking you." I'm a person who needs a lot of examples and a straightforward answer. Ah! Anyway, I'm sure it won't be that terrible. Only 3 more lessons to go!

I found out that my adapter DOES work for my computer...I was so excited to watch the finale of The Bachelor online after class, but I can't watch anything on abc.com because I'm not in the states! I'm absolutely devastated! And I'm also really behind on LOST. Nooo!! If anyone knows of any websites that might have these shows, please let me know...I'm desperate!

Also Happy Birthday my Genna Bunny! I I hope it's fab and I miss you dearly :)

No comments: